thailand – land of smiles

have you ever wondered why thailand is called the land of smiles??

well…. cos they want your money la!

haha no la…. they always appear to be so courteous, everyone seems to go everywhere with a slight upwards curve of their lips. slight nodding of heads. and even when you decide not to buy something, most of the time, they would just smile and say thank you.

i love this place. there are even thoughts of whether this should be a long time place. for a while i was wrestling with the idea of staying longer. as in, extending my stay.

i’m currently staying at this service apartment called "Juldis Tower". It’s nothing great. Hidden in a lane across the Platinum Shopping Centre. But central to many things. All I need to do is to come downstairs, cross the busy road and I can start to buy breakfast. Thai food is starting to grow on me. Even as I type, I am salivating. God, I’m so gonna miss the "chap chye pengs" (mixed rice) here. One thing about the place I’m staying, though it’s comfortable and quite cheap, is that a lot of blacks happen to stay here. From maybe Zimbabwe, Rwanda, that sorta countries… a few times there are a few from USA. You can hear from their accents. Sometimes I get a lil’ scared when they talk to me. U know, alone, and fear. Haha… uhh something to do with drug lords and how some girls were cheated and made to smuggle drugs. Okay, I might be thinking too much. But I suppose to do have my own reasons hey 😉

Okay, so far what have I done? First day was wow – tiring. In fact, when you are holidaying in Thailand, it’s always tiring. And always bloated. The food is too good to miss! I wish I could discover more interesting foods though. Due to globalization some of the better known dishes are already found in other parts of the world, including Singapore, though Thai3Xpress is crap. Haha. I really like the chap chye pengs. I love them! Okay at night I went to the Calypso Cabaret, which is a ladyboy (katoey?) show. WOW! IT WAS GREAT! well… not exactly great la… but I was so busy looking at them… they are so pretty!! NOT ALL. But the main leads. WOW, so pretty!!! Had hairy eyeballs looking at the gorgeous ones. At some point in time, I feel embarrassed to be a woman. They are somewhat even more feminine than me! Which. is. normal. Most girls are more feminine than me, ANYWAY.

I eat 3-5 times a day.

Shopping…. can start to get boring after you’ve been to a few places. Everywhere comes from somewhere. Only the price is different.

Tomorrow is Chaktuchak day. Hope I can see some interesting things that are different from what I’ve been seeing.

Kop Khun Kah!

Leave a comment